What I’m Reading | Gone Girl



I have been looking forward to these days for literally a decade. The days when I can return home stress-free to a good book without worrying about school or other obligations. I grew up with my nose in a book and to this day it’s still one of the most comforting, homey places for me to be. I feel oh so very like myself when I’m reading as someone else. Ha! The irony.


But anyways, ramble aside. The first book I picked up this summer was Gone Girl. Alan and I watched the film a while ago and I didn’t quite like it. It was intriguing and it stuck with me, but for the most part I just felt like something was missing. So I wanted to re-visit it. And I’m glad I did. The movie stuck pretty close to the format, but I connected with the whole screwed-up story so much more as a book. For one, there were a thousand less loopholes. But more importantly, you got to see just how screwed up Nick was too, how the whole novel was just a mess of really screwed up relationships. Not just with Amy and Nick, but with their parents, their friends, and themselves. Control, power dynamics, infidelity, obsession, lies & excuses- all the horrible extremities, huzzah!


Strangely enough, reading it made me more conscious of the choices I make in my relationship. Am I listening enough? Am I being impatient or am I really upset? Where am I being selfish? Am I forcing him to compromise too much? Am I giving up parts of myself that I like? What about all the other things we need in our lives? When I was younger and first starting to get into relationships, I was never very good at taking care of other people or loving myself along the way. I’d like to think I’ve been getting better at it. I’m trying at least.

Anyways, I feel like Gone Girl could have been a much more thrilling read for someone who hasn’t watched the film. I still enjoyed it though. Easy, straight-forward and it keeps you intrigued the entire time. I’ve heard a lot about The Girl on the Train being a very similar and equally good book, so I’m keeping an eye out for that one next!

Leave a Reply

