Goodwill, Good Way…

…to get books! Okay, lame joke. This past weekend I went out to just window shop and keep myself entertained when I went back to the hometown to visit the parents. Shops were crowded and I got bored of clothes. I went to the local Goodwill thinking maybe I could thrift a thing or two, but it turns out that particular site was only a book store. I’m not complaining though. I spent at least half an hour just combing through the shelves. Here’s what I walked away with!

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I was so excited to find this! It had been on my book hit list for a year, but none of the libraries ever seemed to have it in stock. I’m already a hundred pages in. I’ll get a post up whenever I knock it out.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. Not the whole set, but close! These were in great condition too.

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. This just felt like one of those books that everyone’s read or seen as a film. Figured it wouldn’t be a bad one for the collection.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I started this one a couple years ago, but had to return it before I got too far into it. This might be next in the queue after Middlesex.

Wideacre by Phillipa Gregory. I’m not one for romance novels really, but I read The Other Boleyn Girl and The Boleyn Inheritance back in highschool. So I guess there’s something enjoyably nostalgic about reading them. Plus these books are always just nice books. The pages and just how heavy it feels…anyone know what I’m talking about here?

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. Last but not least, the Kite Runner. Something I feel like I should have read long ago. Everything was only 1.99, so I spent less than $14 for all of these. I’m pretty excited to finally be starting the book collection. When I was a kid, my little bookworm brain used to day dream about having one of those giant mansion libraries they always had in movies. No mansion yet, but on my way!

Leave a Reply

