The Fountainhead | Sunday Spotlight


My sisters and I were raised on a steady diet of books. So I’m not the bookworm of the family. It’s just a whole family of bookworms. I decided to have baby bookworm talk about a few of the things she’s been reading lately here in this space, especially since I’ve been swamped with work these past few weeks. You can follow what the baby sister, Vy, is reading here. She writes like she lives her life-with an exorbitant amount of sass. Or just check in every Sunday here for a spotlight post. Anyways, here are her thoughts on the Fountainhead! Jeannie out!

I haven’t written a book report in probably the past five or six years. Honestly, I haven’t. But my sister has been encouraging me to get on the blogging scene, and review books, and I thought, How hard can this be? Super. The answer is super. Since I’ve been out of school for the summer I’ve read nothing but cheesy and completely non-stimulating mystery novels. So, I thought, let’s go back to basics, the first book I ever read that really stuck with me. The first time I read The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand all the way through, I was a freshman in high school and my honors language arts teacher terrified me, but I wanted to make a good impression. She mentioned she liked it, so I read it. Because I was that kid. Since, I have read it dozens of times, and it’s still my go-to “favorite” book when making small talk.

This book encompasses many of my favorite archetypes and tropes – the lovable rogue of an underdog protagonist, the femme fatale, the plain Jane, and even the ambivalent antagonist. Even the conflicts are my favorites – the conflict between individual and society, the conflict between greed and morals, and the questionable nature of relationships that seem picture perfect.

I love that even though each of the characters is quite stereotypical at first, and clearly representative of an idea or vice, there are no shallow characters. The characters you despise and are frustrated with, you come to pity by the end, the characters you see as precious cinnamon rolls and want to protect indubitably become less lovable, and no one is quite as they seem at the beginning. I adore the depth of each character and detail Rand puts into crafting each one and making them seem absolutely real.

As I mentioned at the beginning, I am without a doubt, quite biased towards this book. It has a special place in my heart, as the first novel I ever truly connected with, and it’s themes of individuality and society are always applicable, even in the fifty plus years since its inception, and in the five turbulent years since I first laid eyes on it. I would strongly suggest this to anyone, book lover and non book lover alike, though it does seem daunting at a whopping 700 pages.

5 thoughts on “The Fountainhead | Sunday Spotlight”

  1. I really like The Fountainhead, too, though I can’t say I’ve read it that many times. My personal favorite Rand novel is Atlas Shrugged.

    A few questions for both Jeannie and Vy:

    Jeannie, have you read The Fountainhead or any of Rand’s other novels? Vy, have you read any other Rand novels? If so, what did you think of them? Have either of you looked much into the philosophy behind her novels? A lot of Rand fans find that applying her philosophy to their lives has great benefits.

    1. I’ve studied a bit of her philosophy but haven’t been able to get a copy of Atlas Shrugged. I’ve read Anthem though, and it’s a fascinating statement but wasn’t a fan of the storyline.

Leave a Reply

