January Book Reviews

fangirl-cover

1.Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl follows Cath, an aspiring writer and hardcore fangirl with social anxiety, as she moves away to colleges. Family, school, boys, and all that jazz. Rowell’s greatest strengths are characters and dialogue. I found her characters quirky, endearing and believable for the most part. Her writing is hyperbolic at times, but it wasn’t a huge turn-off for me. Cath’s relationship with her sister was also a high-note for me. Growing apart, finding your own, and knowing you’ll always be able to come back home to each other is very much sisterhood through college. The plot was a little weak though and I honestly didn’t find the giant passages of Cath’s fanfiction to contribute much. It started off on a high-note for me, but got a little annoying once Cath actually gets with her love interest. Overall, fun, entertaining read. Don’t go in with expectations of huge plot or character changes and you’ll be just fine.


 

81jbgvo-5sl

2. The Young Elites by Marie Lu

A sickness leaves part of the population marked and a select few with special powers and abilities. Adelina is one of those select few and quickly becomes entwined in a political game between the ruling class and those marked by the sickness. This was my favorite YA read since I started reading seriously again six months ago. Great protagonist and overall cast of characters. Pacing, story and style were good. A good balance of action, adventure, and all kinds of relationships. I got quite attached to characters and found myself actually being upset when this and that happened (won’t specify because of spoilers). I just picked up Lu’s Legend and I’m hoping that one is just as good.


 

the-selection-kiera-cass-large

3. The Selection by Kiera Cass

In a distant future where the U.S. is now a monarchial country called Illea, the prince selects his wife from a pool of 35 girls. It’s basically the bachelor.  When I was at Barnes and Noble, I found a girl literally hugging the shelf this series was on and to the side, another person was adamantly recommending it to a friend. So I picked it up. And oh my God, so bored. I know this is a fluff read, but still-there’s good fluff and bad fluff. This here is quite mediocre fluff. Kiera Cass has major “not-like-the-other-girls” syndrome. The whole book is dedicated to pointing out how the protagonist, America, is so cool and natural and different from all the other girls who like make-up, clothes and being catty. Super not cool. Aside from that, nothing really happens. The rebels are a vague threat, romance is slow and not very intriguing. Plus the caste system makes no sense and the setting/world is entirely irrelevant. This would be the same story no matter where you put it. I don’t know, I don’t get it. Where did all this hype come from? Why do you love this book? Genuine question, I’d like to know.

Anywho, that was my January hit-list and what I thought of it. I’m going to start doing monthly collections of shorter reviews. It leaves me with more time to do actual reading and keeps the pressure off of blogging. Any recommendations for February?

1 thought on “January Book Reviews”

Leave a Reply

