March Read List

bone-gap

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

You don’t find a ton of magical realism in young adult novels. Or maybe just not in the ones I’ve been reading. Either way Bone Gap was a refreshing visit back to that genre. I found Finn and Petey to be incredibly endearing and Roza to be an empowering heroine to root for. This book says a lot in a little and really portrays every kind of person through the small town of Bone Gap. I’d recommend this one pretty strongly to just about anyone.

simon-vs-the-homo-sapien-agenda-book-review-pic-1-by-casey-carlisle

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

This took me a little bit to get into. I almost stopped reading the book altogether when I was twenty pages in because of all the pop culture references and just how heavily teen it felt sometimes if that makes any sense. Like in a way, it was trying too hard to be young and relevant like the cool mom. But then you keep going and you realize that’s kind of the charm of it. It very much so is about the essence of those awkward teenage years and the struggle behind all the tropes. Didn’t love it, but it was a nostalgic read that reminded me quite a bit of this book I read in highschool years ago.

If you liked this, read: M or F by Lisa Papademetriou

9780141339603

Legend by Marie Lu

I enjoyed the Young Elites when I read it earlier this year in January and all the buzz was  about Lu’s other series, Legend. Overall, I thought it was entertaining, but underwhelming. I didn’t fall in love with either of the lead characters. Nonetheless, I’ll probably finish the series out just to see where she takes it. I do appreciate the ethnic diversity of her characters and I hope that’s something the producers stay true to in the movie adaptation. You don’t always get to see Asian-Americans in major pictures, let only as leads. So crossing my fingers for that!

That’s about it for March! I’m on-track so far for my 2016 Reading Challenge goal of 35 books. If any of you want to follow me along my challenge, you can do so on Goodreads! Feel free to drop your link below too!

1 thought on “March Read List”

Leave a Reply

