Rapid Fire Book Tag

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-11-22-54-am

Book Tag Yay! I’ve never done a book tag before, but this was pretty fun. Send me more, friends! I stole this tag from Jess @ BeaucoupBooks.

1. E-book or Physical book?

E-books! While I love actually having physical books, I find that I’m reading a lot more with e-books. They’re so portable and wallet-friendly. I’ll still go out and buy a book if I really loved it though or if the cover is amazing and I neeeeeeeeed it.

2. Paperback or Hardback?

Paperback. Unless there’s a super pretty hardcover version. I’m a sucker for pretty things.

3. Online or In-Store Book Shopping?

I like browsing in-store and then actually pulling the trigger on books online. Maybe it’s nostalgia from going to the library every weekend with my mom, but I love the smell and feel of libraries and bookstores. Plus I like touching all the books.

cdoxe35inxhfo

4. Trilogies or Series?

Trilogies. Either is fine really, but sometimes series can go on for too long, whereas trilogies tend to have a nice conclusion.

5. Heroes or Villains?

Heroes. I got a soft spot for the good guys. Too many superhero shows and comicbooks as kid. Not to say there aren’t great villain stories though like Marie Lu’s The Young Elites.

6. A Book You Want Everyone To Read?

The Harry Potter series. A common answer maybe. But I was one of those weirdos that didn’t read this until I was twenty-one because I thought it was way too mainstream and hyped growing up. When I finally decided to read them, I binged all the books and all the movies in a couple of weeks. So sad I didn’t read them earlier as a kid.

uhtdwhktr0ijc

7. Recommend an Underrated Author?

I actually can’t think of one off the top of my head. 😐 Recommendations below pls!

8. The Last Book You Finished?

more-happy-than-not

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

It’ll be in my February Book Reviews post later, but long story short, I loved this one.

9. Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

Toilet paper. Clean toilet paper, guys, obviously. But let’s be honest, everyone reads on the crapper and when you need a bookmark, the TP is there.

10. Used Books: Yes or No?

Yes! I used to raid the Goodwill bookstores where they have used books for $1 or $2. I’ve been reading almost exclusively on the Kindle lately though, so used books aren’t really an option.

11. Top Three Favourite Genres?

Fantasy, Contemporary, and Sci-Fi.

12. Borrow or Buy?

Borrow! I’m pretty sure I’m a library felon because I’m terrible at returning books on time so I haven’t checked out an actual book in a long time.  I do, however, love Overdrive and Hoopla for borrowing e-books and audiobooks.

13. Character or Plot?

Mmm. This is difficult because why would you want a book that only had one or the other. That being said, if I absolutely had to choose, I think I’d go with characters. Believable characters are what drive emotional investment for me and a plot can be found in solid character development.

14. Long or Short Books?

Either or. It’s all about that pacing. Short books can still drag and long books can still fly by.

15. Name The First Three Books You Think Of.

bone-gappicture-6caraval-stephanie-garber

 

 

 

 

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby.

Wink, Poppy, Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber.

16. Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

jzentner_theserpentking__spanmore-happy-than-not

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, More Happy Than Not by Adam Silver

I’m not a book-laugher I guess, but I’m definitely a book crier. The last two heart-breaking books I read were probably these two. Maybe not sobbing, but definitely teary-eyed.

17. Our World or Fictional Worlds?

Our world. I can’t remember the last time I read a fantasy novel.

18. Audiobooks: Yes or No?

Yes? I’ve never successfully finished one. It always takes long to listen to one than to read a book obviously, but I’ll listen to a few chapters than get overeager and just read the rest. This happened with The Martian and Red Rising. Though I recently started listening to Prodigy by Marie Lu and I may actually finish that one. We’ll see.

19. Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?

Guilty.

l4ho7sk3en5kyo4oq

20. Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

TV Shows. Especially with a lot of YA series, I feel like you get more out TV adaptations. Plus, you get to see all your favorite scenes and more with shows. I feel like movies always lose out on something. There are exceptions of course where a movie makes more sense. (i.e. Gone Girl or Perks of Being a Wallflower)

21. A Movie or TV Show You Preferred to the Book?

Book-snob here. Let’s be honest, the book is always better.

22. Series or Standalones?

Meh. Either or. Though I don’t like reading series where you get no closure until the final installment. You gotta give me a little something along the way. I have no patience.

xt77y8eeehba8nqwlk

Tags:

I’ll tag some of my most recent book blogger follows and anyone else who wants to do it. Happy Tagging! 🙂

Priscilla @ Rand0m Book Girl

Wing Yee @ Bibliphilic Med Student

Ashley @ What’s She Reading

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

Leave a Reply

