My Life in Books Tag

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-9-13-28-am

Thank you Alice @ Wonderful Words 101 for tagging me!

BOOK FOR EACH INITIAL

J – The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

E – Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

A – A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

N – Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

N – Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

I – If I Stay by Gayle Forman

E – Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

Can I just say how difficult it was to find a ‘J’ title? Sheesh.

AGE – COUNT ALONG YOUR BOOKSHELF

I don’t have a ton on my bookshelf, but luckily I’m not that old. The 23rd book on my shelf is…Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn!

sharp-objects-book-cover

I read this one awhile ago but never got around to writing a review for it. If you enjoyed Gone Girl, Sharp Objects is along a similar vein. Dysfunctional family and girls who are really messed up in the head.

BOOK THAT REPRESENTS A DESTINATION
YOU WOULD LOVE TO TRAVEL TO

41uosdcbvbl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Ink by Amanda Sun

I’d really like to travel through Asia, everywhere really. If I had to pick a couple though, I have been dying to go to Thailand and Japan. How terrible is it that I couldn’t think of any books set in these places off the top of my head. I really need to start reading more diverse books. Though when you read mostly fantasy and sci-fi, finding real-world settings can be difficult I guess. Anyways, I did some Goodreads searching and found the Paper Gods series, set in Japan. I haven’t read these yet, but I have always loved their covers. Gooorgeous.

FAVORITE COLOR

fangirl-cover

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I love blues and greens. Despite the fact that everything I own is black, I actually love this minty green color.

MOST DIFFICULTY READING

61o-ltkjb9l-_sx330_bo1204203200_

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Don’t get me wrong, I actually really enjoyed this book. But I had to read and re-read passages over and over again. The sheer number of characters with similar names combined with an ever-changing timeline plus all the elements of magical realism made this one quite difficult to follow at times.

WHICH BOOK IN THE TBR PILE WILL YOU GET THE BIGGEST SENSE OF ACCOMPLISHMENT FROM?

81kbldresml

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

So this book has earned its spot on multiple ‘Toughest Books to Read’ lists over the years. I’ve had a copy sitting on my shelf for years now and started it a couple of times. It’s an entertaining read, but I just haven’t had the tenacity to finish it through yet. One of these days!

Man, oh man, this one was kind of a toughie of a book tag for me. Hope you guys have an easier time with it!

Amy Lee @ The Book Lagoon

Sophie @ Blame Chocolate

Millie @ MillieBot Reads

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

 

1 thought on “My Life in Books Tag”

Leave a Reply

