Valentine’s Book Tag

Happy Valentine’s Day Friends!

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-10-59-03-am

I am stealing this book tag from Jessica @ The Awkward Book Blogger. I saw a bunch of other Valentine’s book tags, but I don’t read enough romances or care enough about romances to be able to fill them out. Luckily this one is all about love for books. That I have plenty of!

The creator of this tag is CC’s Books on BookTube.

1. Stand-alone Book You Love

bone-gap

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

Whimsical, sweet, heart-warming. I found this story to be equal parts magical and endearing. Easily one of my favorite reads from 2016.

2. Dystopian Book You Love

unwindbookcover

I guess I actually don’t read a lot of Dystopian…I never read the Hunger Games or Divergent despite the fact that they’re dystopian staples. Aside from Marie Lu’s Legend, I haven’t read anything recently. I do remember really loving Unwind by Neal Shusterman in high-school. So it’s an oldie, but I’ll go with that one.

3. A Book That You Love But No One Else Talks About

Lately I’ve been picking out books mostly from the suggestions I get from the Book Blogosphere, so it’s been a while since I’ve read one that isn’t being talked about. That’s definitely a book goal for this year though – to branch out and read more underrated, lesser known books.

4. Favorite Book Couple

l2ywf2kwmdc5jvurm

Mmmmmm. I’m trying real hard, but I don’t know if I have one. I love Petey and Finn from Bone Gap and Blue and Gansey from The Raven Boys….but maybe I’m just not an OTP kind of girl. Favorite is a strong word, I can’t commit. Help.

5. Book That Other People Love But You Haven’t Read Yet

smaas_-_tog_series

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

I’ve heard so much about these and just Sarah J. Maas in general, but I haven’t gotten into them yet. Its a little intimidating with so many books already out. I’ll pick them up eventually though. EVENTUALLY!

6. A Book with Red on the Cover

afterlife2bof2bholly2bchase2bcover2bsnap

The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand

On Christmas Eve five years ago, Holly was visited by three ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways.

She didn’t.

And then she died…

So this one doesn’t come until later this year in November. I haven’t even seen any reviews of it yet, but the summary sounds interesting and I do loooove this cover. Just the tiniest bit of red. But hey, still counts.

7. A Book with Pink on the Cover

25701463

You’re Welcome Universe by Whitney Gardner

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student…

Yet another upcoming release. This one should be out in next month and the reviews are looking pretty solid. Not to mention the Goodreads page alludes to More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera and Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, both of which I really enjoyed.

8. You were given a box of chocolates. What fictional boyfriend/girlfriend would given them to you?

untitled-3

I’m a sucker for them edgy, brooding types so while its super out of character for our Dream Thief, I would totes take chocolates from Ronan in The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

9. You are single on Valentine’s Day. What book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What movie would you watch?

enhanced-buzz-9660-1378429400-14

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Blue Valentine.

This is kind of a tough question since I don’t think being single on Valentine’s Day would really change what I’m watching or reading. Instead, I’m going to pick my favorite sad romance movies. I love them sad, bittersweet ones because despite the sad endings, they feel more real.

10. You are in the book store. All of a sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What new release will you love?

30255943

The Wish Granter by C.J. Redwine

An epic, romantic, and action-packed fantasy inspired by the tale of Rumpelstiltskin, about a bastard princess who must take on an evil fae to save her brother’s soul, from C. J. Redwine, the New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen. Perfect for fans of Graceling and the Lunar Chronicles.

The world has turned upside down for Thad and Ari Glavan, the bastard twins of Súndraille’s king…

Another super cool cover. I actually haven’t read the first in this series, but this one seems pretty interesting. Rumpelstiltskin was one of my favorite fairy tales growing up. He’s such a creepy interesting character, so I’m excited to see how this re-telling plays out. Plus it’s releasing today! How perfect.

If you haven’t already done a Valentine’s Day Book tag and are looking for one…I tag you!

Evelyn @ Evy Reads Book Blog

Alice @ Wonderful Words 101

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

1 thought on “Valentine’s Book Tag”

Leave a Reply

