Anticipated Releases | March 2017

Hi Folks!

While my TBR list is already pretty stacked with 2016 releases and even older reads, I’ve still been eyeing what’s coming soon. Here are my picks from the March 2017 release list. Have any of you read ARCs for these? What did you think?

30649795-_uy960_ss960_

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Can a text message destroy your life?

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, there could be a criminal investigation into the deaths…

Zentner’s debut, The Serpent King, was a touching, bittersweet and well-paced coming-of-age story – one that was well-received by most of the community. So there may be a little bit of pressure for Goodbye Days to live up to that acclaim. Thus far, the Goodreads  reviews seem to be positive. I’m looking forward to giving myself another dose of heartbreak.

25701463

You’re Welcome Universe by Whitney Gardner

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up…

Julia sounds like a spunky, lovable main character and while I’m not chomping at the bit to get my hands on this one, I’d still like to get around to it at some point. It promises the same teenage sweetness and angst as Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and More Happy Than Not. I’m anxious to see if it delivers.

28145767-_uy1499_ss1499_

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor 

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever….

So I admit I have not read any of the Daughter of Smoke and Bones series. It’s entirely a case of judging a book by its cover. BUT I hear Laini Taylor’s storytelling is lyrical and captivating so I want to give this new release a try. Also adding her other series to the TBR list. There seem to be a handful of those who got lost with this novel though, saying it was confusing and hard to follow. Fingers crossed!

What are you all looking forward to? Any I should be adding to my list?

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

1 thought on “Anticipated Releases | March 2017”

  1. I’ve recently added Goodbye Days and You’re Welcome Universe to my TBR too, though I’m not even sure when I’ll get to them. I still have January releases I haven’t read yet (that I was excited about).

Leave a Reply

