The Sick Book Tag

Hey folks! Time for another book tag, whoop whoop! Here is The Sick Book Tag, which was first created by Dark_Chickie on Wattpad. I stole this from Duckess @ Hook a Book. 

Diabetes- a book too sweet, like really sweet

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han | My Review

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell | My Review

Jenny Han and Rainbow Rowell are the queens of sweet, sugary fluff. Sometimes I’m a fan, sometimes I’m not. But you can’t deny the sweetness. These books are like literary sprinkles.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Chicken Pox- a book you picked up once but will never pick up again

The Selection by Kiera Cass | My Review

Soundless by Richelle Mead

There was a lot of love for the Selection series, but I really couldn’t stand it. I was confounded by the world and setting, the characters were unlikeable and quite frankly, nothing happened. Soundless, however, was just a terrible book. Though an interesting concept, it was poorly written. The execution there was just flat. Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy is pretty popular, but Soundless? Hard pass. Needless to say, I won’t be finishing or re-reading these anytime soon.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Influenza- a contagious book that spreads like a virus

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments started off as a trilogy but grew into a series, which then got a movie and a TV show. Then, we have the Infernal Devices and multiple one-off stories plus compendiums. Cassandra Clare’s supernatural world blossomed into a huge franchise. I think I was thirteen when the series first started. Crazy to think of how much it has expanded.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

The Cycle- a book you read every month, year, or often

can-you-tell-the-a-series-of-unfortunate-events-b-2-24671-1436216729-6_dblbig

It’s been a long, long time since I’ve re-read a book, especially since the TBR pile has grown so big lately. When I was a kid though, I had collected almost all of the Series of Unfortunate Events books and re-read those again and again. I also read through Eragon multiple times while waiting for the sequel to come out. Ironically, when it did, I didn’t have the time to read it anymore and actually never got around to it.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

 

Insomnia- a book that kept you up all night

more-happy-than-not

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera 

I mention this book in way too many of these tags, but I got sucked in and stayed up way too late reading this on my kindle under the covers. Another perk of having a kindle – getting to read in bed without having to keep the lights on.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Amnesia- a book that’s forgotten and didn’t leave a powerful impression in your memory

26156987-_uy2550_ss2550_

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

This wasn’t a bad read by any means. I actually rated it rather highly, but it just wasn’t super memorable for me. Even now, I can’t quite remember my thoughts on it, especially since I never got around to writing my review for it.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Asthma- A book that took your breath away

maggie-stiefvater-the-raven-boys

The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater | My Review

For a young adult novel, it felt refreshingly different in tone and plot. The characters were whimsical and dark and the mythology of everything was superb. I still need to finish this series. I don’t know why I’ve been sitting on it for so long.

 

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Malnutrition- a book that lacked food for thought

the-royals-paper-princess-cover-erin-watt-elle-kennedy-jen-frederick

Paper Princess by Erin Watt | My Review

This was all hot guys and sex and scandal without a ton to think about or think through. It kind of read like smut or weird high-school erotica to me.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Travel Sickness- a book that took you on a trip through time and space

 

The Firebird Series by Claudia Gray | My Review

I had my issues with this series, but there’s no denying it took you to incredible places. The characters literally travel through  different dimensions. And while technically, the time isn’t actually changing, the worlds’ different progression rates leave them feeling like parts of the past or future. End of the day, these were still entertaining reads. I just got so annoyed with the protagonist in the second novel that I’m not sure I can fight my way through the third.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

Tagging the following wonderful  book bloggers and anyone else who wants to this tag!

Swetlana and Sandra @ Reading Through the Nights

Kiersten @ Once Upon a Spine

Michelle @ Book Adventures

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

 

5 thoughts on “The Sick Book Tag”

  1. Hey! ) Thank you so much for tagging myself and Sandra in this! I unfortunately can’t seem to come up with books for most of the categories, so I hope you don’t mind if I don’t do the tag. Maybe Sandra has more luck coming up with books and wants to do it.

  2. I’m adding this onto Swetlana’s comment. First of all, Thank you so much for tagging us! I have to say as much as I would love to do this tag because I love doing these, I can’t come up with books either. I haven’t read enough books to really be able to choose a specific one for each category. Once I continously read more I’ll be happy to do any of these fun tags!

Leave a Reply

