February Book Reviews

Hi folks!

Happy March! This past month has been a great one for book blogging. While I didn’t get to finish nearly as many books as I would have liked, I’ve followed tons more blogs and have had a lot of fun doing book tags and making book friends.

But without further ado, here are my quick reviews for what I read in February!

more-happy-than-not

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Read it? Do it now. 

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.
In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his over…

I have no idea why I put this book off for so damn long. Despite the rave reviews, I think some part of me always felt like it would let me down. It did not. This cast of characters is believable and lovable in a way that makes everything that happens so heart-wrenchingly tragic. I managed to stay spoiler-free until now and found myself genuinely intrigued by every twist and turn. Reading this book is like watching a runaway train. You know it’s going to end in disaster, but you can’t look away and every bit of you is reaching out to try and save it. Easily one of my favorite reads in a long time.

caraval-stephanie-garber

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Read it? Give it a try.

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . .
Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

There was so much hype around this book and its release. While I wasn’t mind-blown, I also wasn’t disappointed. The mysterious world of Caraval was full of whimsy and kept me captivated the whole time. Garber’s flowery prose was decorative and colorful. Not always in a sensical, useful way, but beautiful words nonetheless. The downside however was that Scarlett was unfortunately dull as a protagonist. While her development from a cautious, pragmatic girl into someone more bold and confident was relatable, it was underwhelming. There are a handful of other interesting characters, but we aren’t given enough depth on them to really fall in love. I’m hoping we get to see more of Julian, Dante and Donnatella in the sequel. Overall, a refreshing read that felt different enough in the world of YA to warrant giving it a try despite its flaws.

prodigy-cover-661x1024

Prodigy by Marie Lu

Read it? Thumbs up. 

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring…

Legend left me rather underwhelmed, especially because I loved Lu’s other series, the Young Elites. Prodigy, however, was everything I wanted from the first installment. Complete with much more world-building, further exploration into the characters and powers outside of June and Day and a more action-packed plot, Legend kept you excited the whole way through. I don’t, however, find myself rooting for June and Day as a couple. The plot around their romance and love interests were dull to me – sometimes even annoying. Though to be fair, the voice actors from the audiobook may have exacerbated my annoyance with the characters. It’ll be interesting to see how Lu wraps it all up in Champion, especially with what we learn at the end. Looking forward to it!

I started so many other books, but won’t be sharing my thoughts on those until I’ve fully wrapped them up.

What did you read this month? Share your wrap-ups below and I’ll check them out!

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

 

5 thoughts on “February Book Reviews”

  1. I still haven’t read a single Adam Silvera book even though I have two on my TBR and I was really excited about History Is All You Left Me! I’ve read both Caraval and Prodigy and I seem to remember that I really enjoyed Prodigy when I first read it! I hope Champion is everything you want it to be! 🙂

    1. Thanks! What’d you think of Caraval?? There was so much hype, I think a lot of people ended up disappointed. I’ve History Is All You Left Me on my radar too! Hopefully I’ll be able to get to it this month. D:

      1. I actually really, really enjoyed the book and ended up giving it a 4,5 star rating on goodreads! I actually wrote a review for the book, if you’re interested in checking that out? It doesnt contain any spoilers and goes more into dept of what I thought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

