The Liebster Award

Say whaaaaaaaaaaat. So excited to have been nominated for the Liebster Award! So thank you Bella @ Bella Blogs Because Books for thinking of me. She’s got an awesome blog going. So everyone go visit her and give her some love.

liebster-award-large

What is the Liebster award?

The Liebster Award is all about building out the book blogging community. Specifically, it’s a way to highlight newer blogs that don’t necessarily have a large following yet (less than 200). You get to discover hidden gems of blogs, make new book blog friends and learn more about the bloggers you already follow!

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their site on your blog
  2. Display the award on your blog
  3. Answer 10 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you
  4. Nominate 5-10 other bloggers for the award
  5. Create a new list of questions for your nominees to answer
  6. List these rules in your post
  7. Inform the people/blogs that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so they can learn about it

Questions

  1. What is your advice to people who want to start a book blog?

    Don’t stress yourself out. It’s a blog, not a job. So read when you want to, write when you want to and don’t get too caught up in the stats. I find that trying to set a schedule for posting makes things more difficult for me. So some weeks I’m posting multiple times a day, some weeks there’s nothing at all  and that’s okay. I would also suggest following a ton of other book blogs and being active about interacting with them. Part of the fun is geeking out on books together.

  2. What is your most read genre?

    I bounce back and forth between fantasy and contemporary novels lately. Especially since there are so many common themes within the genre, I feel like I need to alternate or else it can feel like I’m reading the same book again.

  3. What has been the most rewarding part about having a book blog?

    I’m reading so much more now. Not just to write about, but for my own enjoyment. I grew up reading every day and it was really hard to keep that up with college. It’s really nice to have that back in my life again.

  4. What would you like your readers to know about you that you haven’t mentioned before?

    Not necessarily something you guys need to know, but it is an interesting fact! When I’m not reading or eating or blogging, I basically live in the gym. I’m actually an amateur muay thai fighter. Reading is my go-to downtime activity when I don’t have to be training. I’m usually curled up with a book while I lay in bed icing my whole body and nursing various injuries hahaha.

  5. What is one book that really changed the way you look at things?

    The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan. A lot of the books I read in high school made me think, but as a second generation asian american girl, this one hit home. It made me take a second look at my relationship with my own mother and re-evaluate my identity as a part of a larger family story.

  6. What is one book that you think is really important for everyone to read?

    I know they’re often dense or dull or hard to get through, but I do think classics are classics for a reason. Most of them, while I may not re-read them any time soon, are well worth the time. Lord of the Flies, Death of a Salesman and Fahrenheit 451 in particular were fantastic in my opinion.

  7. Is there any one specific book character that you really connected to?

    Aside from my dad, my family is all girls. It’s my mom, my two sisters and me. We had an old beat-up version of Little Women by Louisa May Alcott growing up. Over time, we all read it and ended up connecting to different characters. My oldest sister is Meg and my little one a mix of both Amy and Beth. For me, it has always been Jo. She was the first character I saw myself in and wanted to be like. Such an important book to me growing up. It showed all the different kinds of woman you could be – all of them strong and beautiful in their own right.

  1. What is your favorite quote from a book?

    I should start writing down quotes that I like…because I usually just stop, pause and think to myself, “Man, that’s a good line”. Then I move on and forget about it entirely hahahah.

  2. What is one book that made you laugh out loud?

    This is kind of a hard one for me. I don’t usually laugh out loud when I read…I cry though. I cry a lot. Laughing not so much. Not sure why.

  3. What is the book/series that got you into reading?

    I don’t think there was any one specific book. My parents read to me everyday from the moment I was born. Then when I started learning how to read, we would go to the library every weekend and I would pick out books I could read to me dad. As we go older, my sisters and I would have our own book clubs and talk for hours about what we had read that week. My mom also made me write book reports over summer vacations…which I hated at the time, but I guess wasn’t terrible. So I’ve really always been reading.

Nominations

Here are some of the blogs I follow that have less than 200 followers. They’re all fabulous folks with great posts about books and book related things.

Melanie @ Books are My Children

Wing Yee @ Bibliophilic Med Student

Swetlana and Sandra @ Reading Through The Nights

Nadwa @ Painfully Fictional

Savannah @ The Book Prophet

New Questions for Nominees:

  1. If you could live in any book universe, which would you pick?
  2. Assemble a team of literary badasses to help you fight off the zombie apocalypse. Who would you choose?
  3. Pick a book or character that most closely resembles you or your life.
  4. What is your favorite movie or TV show adaptation of a book?
  5. If you were to write a book about your life, which author would you want to write it?
  6. What is your favorite time and place to read?
  7. What is your favorite reading time snack?
  8. List 3 facts about yourself that are totally unrelated to books and blogging.
  9. What is your current and/or dream job?
  10. What is the best book you’ve read this year?

Feel free to answer these questions and link your post below even if I haven’t tagged you. I’m currently at work (shh!) so I can’t go through my follows and tag everyone. I’m really looking forward to reading all your responses!

As always, Happy Reading!

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

 

8 thoughts on “The Liebster Award”

  1. I really appreciate the nomination! I tend to jump between fantasy and contemporary as well. I find it very interesting how you are a muay thai fighter, that’s so cool! I do the exact same thing with quotes! I have a package of book flags and a little journal now though that I got from a book subscription box so I should really start using them for that. I love your questions and can’t wait to answer them!

    1. Yay! You’re very welcome! I can’t wait to read your responses. Ooh, I should totally set aside a journal for book quotes. That’s a great idea.

      Are you doing the Book of the Month box?? How do you like it! I’ve been on the fence about a subscription book box for a while now.

      1. I got last month’s OwlCrate box and I loved it. March’s theme is the sea so the entire box will be sea themed. It’s really cool and fun and you get a lot for your money. Even if you just do it every so often, you don’t have to keep it for every month. I’ve also heard wonderful things about Fairyloot but I haven’t gotten it myself.

      1. Anything by Kasie West, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Start of Me and You. That’s off the top of my head. Those are a few of my favorites. Have you read any?

Leave a Reply

