Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Screen Shot 2017-06-19 at 10.28.35 AM

Happy Middle of June! Except not quite because I missed it by a few days. Meh, when am I ever on time with blog posts though? Anyways, I first peeped this tag over at Steff @ Little Booky Nook ! I love a blogger with a sense of humor and good taste in books. Don’t you? Check out all her reviews, collection of tags and – my personal favorite – all her book rants.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

 

Best book you have read so far in 2017

20764879

Shades of Magic Series. This is tough ’cause I’ve read some good ones this year, but nothing stole my heart quite like V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic Series. So much so that I’m giving away a copy of the first book in the series. 

Best Sequel of 2017 so far

A Gathering of Shadows. I’ve actually read more sequels than usual this year. Namely Prodigy, The Rose Society and now working through A Court of Mist and Fury. A Gathering of Shadows still tops the list for me though.

New release you haven’t read yet, but you want to

want-9781481489225_hr

Want by Cindy Pon

If a gorgeous cover and a diverse character/setting isn’t enough to intrigue you, perhaps this review by Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks will convince you. It sure as heck convinced me.

Most anticipated release of the second half of 2017

giphy7

Not sure if there’s anything I’m absolutely dying to get my hands on right away. Maybe it’s because my TBR list is far too long already, but I haven’t kept an eye on what’s coming up lately.

Biggest disappointment

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

So much hype. So little plot.

This is our story by Ashley Elston

Actually came onto my radar as an under-hyped book. Turns out I agreed with the lack of hype. Wasn’t much here for me.

Biggest surprise

jzentner_theserpentking__span

Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. 

This did not go the way I thought it was going to go. Why did it go that way. *cries quietly*

Favourite new author (Debut or new to you)

Obvi V.E. Schwab. Even when I don’t love the plot or pacing of her novels, I really do enjoy her style and characterization. Also Laura Ruby though! Bone Gap was one of my favorites last year and I haven’t gotten too far with York yet, but I’m definitely already a fan of her writing.

Favourite new character

giphy8

Is it terrible to admit that I’m just too lazy to pick?

Book that made you cry

more-happy-than-not

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. 

giphy6

I mean really, need I say more?

Book that made you happy

All the books I’ve read this year have broken my heart, which has made me happy in the sense that they’re great books. …But not too many happy ending reads so far. It’s all dark, stormy clouds over here.

Favourite book to movie adaption you’ve seen this year

Haven’t seen too many adaptations this year to be honest. I did really love Logan though, which was very loosely inspired by Old Man Logan, a comic arc which I also loved.

giphy9

Favourite review you’ve written this year

My reviews are more a collection of rapid-fire thoughts than actual reviews…so to be honest, I don’t think much of them ha! Here are two of my more popular sets of reviews this year though : March Book Reviews | April Book Reviews

Most beautiful book you’ve bought/received this year

Now this isn’t beautiful in the traditional sense, but I just started listening to the Daughter of Smoke and Bones audiobook. Oh my goooooooosh. 

giphy5

Christine Hvam does the most incredible voices. Her narration enriches the story so much for me that despite wanting to whip open the actual book to see what happens, I find myself just waiting for long car rides so I can listen to her read it instead. One of the rare instances in which I think I prefer the audiobook. Seriously, if you haven’t listened to her version of it (which is available on Overdrive), check. it. out.

I recently got my older sister back into reading (score!) by getting her a kindle and introducing her to audiobooks on apps like Overdrive. We both just happened to start this audiobook at the same time and it’s a glowing endorsement from her as well.

Books you need to read by the end of the year

I really want to get through ACOMAF and ACOWAR just to catch up with the rest of the book world, but they seem to take me forever to get through so we’ll see how that goes. There are also a bunch of new contemporary releases that have been pretty well received (i.e. When Dimple Met Rishi, The Hate U Give, etc.) but I have been on a pretty long fantasy binge lately. I’m not quite seeing a light at the end of that tunnel yet, so who knows if I’ll squeeze in any of those this year.

 

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-12-53-44-pm

 

Anywho. Like I said, I’m pretty late with this tag and don’t want to go about tagging folks that have already done this one, so if you haven’t…I tag you! Feel free to link your posts below if you have done this tag! I’d love to check them out.

Happy Reading!

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-9-57-15-am

7 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag”

  1. I absolutely loved the audio book of Daughter of Smoke and Bone!!! 😍😍😍 Zusana is my fave 😄 I’ve just done this tag and scheduled it for later this week, it was such a fun one remembering all the awesome books I’ve read so far this year, it’s easy to forget when you read a five star book three books ago!

    1. The cover is beeeeautiful!! Really grabbed my eye once I found out it was set in Taiwan. It’ll be neat to read a YA novel set out in Asia.

      I don’t read a ton of contemporary, but The Serpent King was definitely worth!

  2. Great answers, and thank you for your lovely words about my blog!!! I loved ADSOM so much, I thought it was such a wonderful book and the rest of the series was just as awesome. I am really wanting to read Want, I have heard awesome things!! Omg I LOVED Daughter of Smoke and Bone, it was just beautiful and I loved Karou and Akiva. Laini Taylor is such a beautiful writer.

    1. This was my first introduction to Laini Taylor! I’ve been hearing her name all over the blogosphere, excited to finally be reading
      (or listening to rather) some of her work.

      I would love to see either of those series turned into movies or series. That would be amaaaaazing. :O

      1. Same here, I think they would make amazing movies or tv series…just as long as they did a good job of it. I gave up on Shadowhunters because I love the books and the show is just so silly (to me anyway). I hope you enjoy the rest of Laini’s work 🙂

Leave a Reply

